John Ronan MArch ’91 and Theaster Gates LF ’11 have been honored with 2017 Architecture Awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Chosen from a group of 27 individuals and practices nominated by the Academy, the 2017 honorees will receive their awards at an annual celebrate in May. Members of the jury included: Elizabeth Diller (chairman), Henry N. Cobb, Peter Eisenman, Kenneth Frampton, Hugh Hardy, Steven Holl, Thom Mayne, James Polshek, Robert A. M. Stern, Billie Tsien, and Tod Williams.

Ronan received his award in the category of “an American architect whose work is characterized by a strong personal direction.” Juror Tod Williams praised his work saying, “with elegance and rigor, John Ronan continues Chicago’s history of serious architecture of national and international significance.”

Gates, who was honored in the the category of “an American who explores ideas in architecture through any medium of expression,” is founder of the Rebuild Foundation, which works to transform urban spaces through art and design.

Learn more.

Photos courtesy of the American Academy of Arts and Letters