President Barack Obama announced his intent to appoint two Harvard Graduate School of Design alumni and faculty members to the United States Commission of Fine Arts: Toni L. Griffin LF ’98, professor in practice of urban planning, and Alex Krieger MCP ’77, professor in practice of urban design. The seven-member Commission of Fine Arts is an independent federal agency tasked with advising the President, Congress, and the federal and District of Columbia governments on select matters of design and aesthetics. It was established by Congress in 1910 as a permanent body to advise the federal government on matters pertaining to the arts and national symbols, and to guide the architectural development of Washington, D.C.

Photo credit: United States Commission of Fine Arts webpage

November 2016